EXPLORE THAILAND THROUGH PHOTOGRAPHY                            
LOPBURI HISTORIC CITY  -  Phra Narai Ratchaniwet  
พระนารายณ์ราชนิเวศน์  
 Address:        
 Known as:        
 Description:   This palace-complex is also commonly known as King Narai National Museum and was built in the late 17th century, when King Narai the Great decided to make Lop Buri the second capital of the Ayutthaya Kingdom. Although French architects contributed to the design of the buildings, the Khmer influence is still visible. The palace is a perfect blend of both worlds, a unique mixture of Khmer-European styles.
After the death of King Narai the Great in 1688, the palace was abandoned. It was not until the reign of King Rama IV during the Rattanakosin era that the palace was restored and renamed PhraNaraiRatchaniwet. Now, there are several compounds with pavilions dating from both King Narai and King Rama IVís reigns.
The complex is located in the town center, between Ratchadamnoen Road and Pratu Chai Road. To get there, go through PratuPhayakkha, which is currently a town park, located off Sorasak Road.
The palace-turned-museum is open Wednesdays through Sundays from 8.30 am-4.30 pm. 
 
 Province   Lopburi  Direction:      
 District   Mueang     
 City   Tha Hin  Comments:      Official Web:    
 Genre   Historic      Related links:      
 Best exposure   AM-PM          
 Rating            
 Opening time   na          
 Entry fee   150 THB for all sites     Coordinates:    14.799929 N 100.610918 E  
                     
                     
Click here to go back to the previous page
SUB-SITES PICTURES:    
 Phra Narai Ratchaniwet  XX 
 

Site optimized for IE10 and Screen resolution above 1280X1024
Droits de reproduction et diffusion reserves
Copyright © 2015 P-Lepetit.com / Asiaphotos.org
Contact: PatrickLEPETIT@hotmail.com