EXPLORE THAILAND THROUGH PHOTOGRAPHY                            
   
TEMPLES - CHURCHES AND MOSQUES  -  Wat Thepthidaram  
วัดเทพธิดาราม  
 Address:        
 Known as:        
 Description:   Originally called Wat Ban Phraakrai Suanluang, this temple was built between 1836 and 1839 on order of King Rama III. A gift for HRH Prince Apsornsudathep, its architecture is characteristic of the period, especially the ubosot, or ordination hall, with its strong Chinese features such as gable decorated with glazed ceramics. Inside are some impressive murals and the temples main Buddha image, Luang Phor Khao or Phra Buddha Devavilasa.
The wihan, prayer hall, exhibits a similar style and contains images of 43 enlightened female disciples - Bhiksuni - cast in tin. There are also four tall prangs located at each of the ubosots corners, the base of each representing the four Chinese deities. A famous Thai poet of the Rattanakosin era, Sunthon Phu was ordained here as a monk, and his former quarters, or kuti, remain.
Opening Hours: 05:00 - 21:00
Location: 70 Mahachai Road, Phra Nakhon, Old City (Rattanakosin)
 
 Province   Bangkok  Direction:      
 District   Phra Nakhon    
 City   Khwaeng Samran Rat  Comments:    Official Web:    
 Genre   Temples-Churches and Mosques      Related links:      
 Best exposure   AM/PM          
 Rating              
 Opening time   n/a          
 Entry fee   Free     GPS :   13.75350 N 100.50432 E  
                     
                     
Click here to go back to the previous page
SUB-SITES PICTURES:    
Wat Thepthidaram  xx 
 

Site optimized for IE10 and Screen resolution above 1280X1024
Droits de reproduction et diffusion reserves
Copyright 2015 P-Lepetit.com / Asiaphotos.org
Contact: PatrickLEPETIT@hotmail.com